You’re my cup of coffee

You're my cup of coffee cardI’m kind of a freak about crafts featuring coffee and coffee cups, maybe because I’m totally a freak about coffee.  So I had to buy this Hero Arts coffee cup stamp when I saw it.

To create the card, I stamped the coffee cup in dark red ink, then cut it out.  My X-acto knife skills need some work, but the inside of the cup was uncomplicated enough that my cut looks smooth (mostly).  I cut patterned paper the size of the card, then cut a smaller rectangle of a different pattern for a layering piece.  I used brown texture spray to get the look of a coffee stain on the layering piece, then rounded the corners and punched out two hearts.  For the smaller white hearts, I stamped on white cardstock in brown ink and cut them out.

To assemble, I adhered the background piece to the card, then the strip of ribbon, placing it where it would show through the punched hearts.  Then I adhered the layering piece, the coffee cup and white hearts.  To create “steam,” I took a couple of paper shavings from cutting the patterned paper and adhered them to the layering piece.

Thanks for looking!

Supplies used:

  • Stamps: Hero Arts, Avery Elle
  • Patterned paper: Lawn Fawn
  • Ribbon: May Arts
  • Punch, corner rounder: Martha Stewart Crafts
Leave a Reply

