“You Rock” Cassette Tape Card

You rock cardRemember cassettes?  You might, if you’re as old as I am.  When I played around with a texture medium I had lying around, I found I could make strips that look like the tape inside a cassette.  I found the perfect stencil to make the card I wanted and got to work.

First, I stenciled the cassette on white cardstock with neon inks, then cut it out.

For the layering pieces, I cut a rectangle from blue cardstock, then sprayed it with some sparkly colored sprays.  For the second layering piece, I cut a piece of patterned paper.

For the background piece, I cut “You rock!” from teal cardstock using a Silhouette machine, then I cut the cardstock to the size of my card base (A4).  I coated a piece of white cardstock with purple texture spray, let it dry, then adhered it to the underside of the teal stock.   Then I flicked more purple texture spray onto the piece.  I also cut the music notes with a Silhouette from black cardstock, then covered it with purple iridescent texture paste.

For the “tape,” I applied some texture medium to a craft mat in the width and length I wanted the piece to be, then let it dry.  Once dry, I could mold the tape to make waves, like real tape does if you pull it out of a cassette.  If you’re too young to remember, you’ll just have to trust me.

Finally, I adhered all the pieces together.

Thanks for looking!

Supplies

  • Stencil: The Crafter’s Workshop
  • Die cuts: Silhouette
Leave a Reply

